“April is the cruellest month….”

5 Apr

TS Eliot must have spent some time during Saskatchewan in winter, I think.  After the glorious days of sunshine that we experienced this week, the tentative emergence of green shoots, the clear and dry roads, and the immense, communal uplifting of spirits, this is what I awoke to this morning:

It’s not very clear in the video, but the snow is still falling; lazily, blithely, and completely unconcerned about the horror it is creating among those who took their winter tires off their cars and retired the snow shovels and snow blowers to the darkest recesses of their garages. It’s the fifth day of April, and the car park is blanketed again.

In other, pre-It’s-F&*^ing-Snowing-Again-news, we spent a lovely evening in the dog-walking park beside the river on Tuesday.  Jo Ann piled me and the five children into her car, parked beside the river, and we crossed under the huge Circle Drive bridge to the other side.  It was a bit unnerving walking along the pedestrian bridge with huge trucks thundering overhead, but the views of the river were stunning, and the park was gorgeous.

It was full of people and bounding dogs, and the kids got to run around and climb trees, while Jo Ann and I caught up on the events of the week.  We saw skeins of Brent geese flying overhead, and I was telling Jo Ann how we used to go to the Slobs in Wexford to see them on the Irish leg of their long journey.  Little did I know that one day I would be watching them return to Canadian skies.

http://www.wexfordwildfowlreserve.ie/

SAMSUNG

 SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

Monkeys

6 Responses to ““April is the cruellest month….””

  1. Angela furlong April 6, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    Awh Babs I can’t help but laugh!!! But seriously you must be cracking up!!! Somebody put a post up on FB the other day ‘this day last year it was 20•’ & it’s still single figures so far this year!!! Just hope we get our normal summer in May for the communion!! Went out last night with Nuala, Bernie, Sighle, Carmel & Lisa. Was lovely to catch up & your name came up in a lot if our ‘Remember the time…… Stories’. So much wish we didn’t have to remember & have you here xxx

    • cibnr April 6, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

      I was talking to Nuala after your evening out; wish I was there – or that you were all here!

  2. Bernadette April 6, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Hi Barbara,
    I love reading your blog. I can actually hear you, I read them in my head with your voice. Well done to you all and your bravery. Im sure you are missing here in ways. Look, things are still the same, nothing changes. You on the other hand, are trying something new, giving the kids new experiences and widening their minds. Daisy says hi to Isabelle and Christopher! Maybe if you send me your address, she would be delighted to have them as pen pals.
    B’dette Doolan.

    • cibnr April 6, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Hi Bernadette, lovely to hear from you! I’ll email you my address; the kids would love to hear from Daisy.

  3. Chantelle April 11, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

    Oh dear!!

    I just found this blog, and have been enjoying reading it immensely! I am a Saskatoon resident for the last 7 years, and grew up on a town 3 hours south of here. It is amazing the difference a few miles can make – my parents’ farmyard is all mud already.

    I know you have heard this a million times, but the end is near. They also say that the average temperature for a year rarely changes by more than +/-2 degrees, so we are likely in for a hot, long summer this year (maybe even until the end of October!) This year is ridiculous and an awful “first attempt” at Saskatchewan… it will get better!

    • cibnr April 16, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      Hi Chantelle, lovely to hear from you. I think you’re right, the end is nigh (at last!). We’ve to achieve a whole 5 degrees this weekend, and I can’t take my eyes of the lovely grass outside the front door. This has been a long, long winter, so I’m hoping for a long, long Fall 🙂 If we survived this one, the next should be a piece of cake!

Leave a Reply

