Basements

29 Aug

are amazing things (unless you’re Austrian, of course….).  I don’t know why they never caught on in Ireland, but every home should have one.  It holds everything.  I mean everything.  A massive top-loading washing machine.  A huge tumble-dryer.  A couch, all our empty suitcases, a furnace/boiler thingy, wall-to-wall shelving.  All the kids’ toys and their sports equipment (now taking up lots of shelves since our excursion on Saturday).

It’s cool down there.  Temperature-wise, I mean.  As you come up the stairs, it’s like walking back into a sauna.

There’s a couch to sit on and escape from the kids for a while.

The kids can be banished to the basement at the drop of a hat.

I don’t have to look at their toys.

There will be room for a pool table, if we ever come across a free one on Kijiji (Canadian equivalent of DoneDeal, some hilarious ads).

I can just throw all the dirty washing down the stairs and pick it up later when I feel like it.

It’s cold down there.  Yes, I know I said that already, but you need to really appreciate how wonderful that is. Come back to me in winter and remind me that I said this.  You can even gloat if you want, as we shiver in -40.  Maybe the basement will be warm then?

So there you have it.  Build a basement. You’re worth it.

6 Responses to “Basements”

  1. Aidriel August 30, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    I want one NOW. Sounds like a little piece of heaven on earth. Basements should be compulsory – imagine no clutter upstairs and a place to disappear to – bliss. School was back today and it was very strange not to see you there. Best of luck to the children when they start in St. Angelas next week. You all seem to have settled in so well. Take care.

    • cibnr August 30, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      I’m having a bit of a wobbly day today – I think it’s because of school starting back in Bree and the children not being there to start their new classes. Seems sad and a bit strange. They’re looking forward to starting here next week, but a lot of excitement is based on the interesting bits like the gym and library, and not so much on the actual schoolwork….
      I miss you loads – are you on Skype yet?

  2. Loreta Di Fiore August 30, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Angela has me hooked on ur blog. You have me in stitches laughing. Gotta get me a basement, if nothing else, to just be able to throw dirty clothes down there untill I feel like dealing with them. Love it !!

    • cibnr August 30, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      Hi Loreta! Lovely to hear from you – hope the kids got on well today with school. You need to start a “Grow your own Basement” movement over there. Great place to escape to.

  3. Emily Somerville August 30, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Got one of those. Its flooded!!!

    • cibnr August 30, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      I think that’s taking the whole “basement as a recreation room” too far, Emily. Snooker table, maybe. Swimming pool, not such a great idea.

Leave a Reply

